Vacation Rentals and Timeshares Home
Bookmark This Page
List Timeshare For Free
43,253 Timeshare Listings


Timeshares Home

My Timeshare

Contact Us
Timeshare Blog
Timeshare Tips
Follow Us - Facebook
 
SEARCH TIMESHARES:
All Timeshares
Timeshare Rentals
Timeshare Resales
Timeshare Exchanges
Resort Name
Resort Type
City
ID#
Popular
Newest
Last Minute
Promotions
Advanced Search
 
TIMESHARE OWNERS:
Rent/Sell Your Timeshare
Get Your Timeshare's Value
Testimonials
Timeshares Wanted
Free e-Book
 
RESOURCES:
Timeshare Calendar
Timeshare Financing
Closing Service
Resort Reviews
Travel Guide

 

Westgate Leisure Resort
Resort Reviews

Home Resort Reviews Westgate Leisure Resort Reviews

Information about Timeshares

Selling a timeshare or planning a timeshare vacation? Explore our vast resources.



 
2
2
1
2
2
3
1
Overall Rating: 2
4 user ratings (based on 5.0 scale)

Rate Orlando



 
1. Reviewer's Rating: (Not Recommended - 2 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2006-11-14 00:00:00
I was interested in the Westgate Resort because of the location. This was a great location for Universal Studios, Sea World, Disney and surrounding attractions. The pool areas were very nice and clean, pleanty of towels too. The bars at the pool were not open during my visit. Upon arrival to my room I was greated by a huge cockroach dead in my bathtub along with hairs of various lengths. Everytime I took a shower the smoke alarm went off. I had to hike two buildings away to get some ice because the ice machine in my building was broken. There wasn't a phonebook (to find a restaurant phone #) and there wasn't any directions for the DVD player and I had to call the desk 3 times to find a person who could tell me about it.There was construction out back adjacient to Westgate property and there was a early morning beep,beep,beep,beep of trucks backing up that sounded like an alarm clock that wouldn't shut off. I also had a convoy of marching ants across my headboard into the kitchen and in the bathroom the whole stay. A comforting thought while sleeping. I went to the lobby to rent a DVD from a machine since there wasn't rentals from the TV and the first night the DVD rental machine was broken and the second night it was out of movies except for childrens stuff. The AIR conditioning did not work at all, thank god it was cooler weather. I called down to the desk to get information on City Walk at Universal Studios and I was on hold for 22 minutes and finally hung up never speaking to anyone. The PARKING was HORRENDOUS!!! On saturday night we had to park 4 buildings away. When I called the desk I was told "we are very busy". Can you imagine owning a villa here and having to park 4 buildings away!! Not the answer I wanted to hear. I was unable to purchase a newspaper either in the lobby or the Market Place they were sold out. The TV reception was poor. Forget getting on line in the computer room the wait was too long. I have been a guest at the Breakers in Palm Beach, the Super 8 and everything in between. The Westgate was by far the most dissapointing stay I have ever had. It seemed all they cared about was sell,sell,sell,sell. Don't take care of OWNERS. I am not an owner and never will be at this resort. I feel they should pay me the $159.00 to stay there. I know this will not be posted for people to read but maybe it will get to the right person to do something about it.
-Review courtesy of Judy Ronca (stayed during Nov, 2006)
 
2. Reviewer's Rating: (Horrible - 1 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2007-03-13 00:00:00
My stay with Westgate was the most horrible ever. When we arrived and we cheked in, no one took us to our villas. The guy in reception told us that it was just two blocks down, we drove fifteen minutes before locating it. The ammenties were nice, the television worked and the place was clean. HOwever, after the third day i called for maid services and no one came. I called again for maid services on the 5th day an no one came. The parking everyday was horrible. We had to park five buildings away from where we stayed. Overall the staff at Westgate were very inconsiderate and they did not care to make a good impression anytime at all except during the timeshare presentation.
-Review courtesy of JA (stayed during Feb, 2007)
 
3. Reviewer's Rating: (Excellent - 5 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2008-07-15 00:00:00
My husband and I arrived at West Gate Resort Vacation Villas on May 16, 2008 at about 2:00 Am. We walked into obnoxiously loud rap music. This was our first experience to West Gate. When we got to our room we noticed the horrible out dated décor but we were so tired from traveling that we went right to bed. When we got into bed I realized what uncomfortable mattress we laid upon and also the very stained cigarette burned comforter. I was just going to ignore these problems and try to enjoy our stay. When we woke up in the morning I went to the bathroom off the kitchen to start the shower when I realized the dirty tile in which I refused to take a shower in. So I went to the shower off the bedroom. It was a little cleaner but obviously was not in the best condition. When I went to use a towel the towels were in such shambles and in such bad shape that it actually hurt using against my skin. At this point I was getting annoyed but still wanted to enjoy my stay so I didn’t say anything. We received a phone call from Ferra on Saturday saying to contact her with any issues and She also said that we have to meet to go over our Equity that we gained. Saturday and Sunday was very busy for my husband and I so we stayed away from the resort all day, which we did not want to be in the horrible environment of the resort anyway. Monday I tried to contact Ferra to say we were not interested in the time share and we can’t meet with her on Tuesday. We did not want a timeshare because of all the non existent update and horrible quality of everything in the condo. She was with another Family so she could not talk and she said she would call back. In which she did not call back that day even though I attempted to call her multiple times to tell her about our horrible experience. Monday Night my husband and I got back to the resort late. I looked for a washer and dryer in our condo and did not find one. I was upset because I was told there were a washer and dryer in the condo. With that said I called the front desk and asked to speak to a supervisor in which I was transferred at least 3 times. I finally got a supervisor and they asked if I wanted to change rooms (at that time a declined because the hassle of moving and packing all my belongings) then they offered a $50 certificate to the Smokehouse in which I declined as well because my husband and mine agenda was completely packed for the rest of the week and would not have time to eat there nor did not want to eat there because of the horrible service and lack of quality at the resort. Ferra finally contacted me. I told her how unhappy I was and she said she wished she knew and we should have contacted her even though I tried to contact her multiple times. She said even though we were not interested we needed to still meet up to sign paper work and she made it seem like it was going to be fast. We decided to meet on Wednesday Morning. We met and yet again the resort was even more disappointing. She stole our time to go over the same stuff we heard already about your “5 star resort”. Then she took us on a tour to see the new condos, which made my husband and I even angrier because we were stuck in the horribly outdated and extremely bad shape condo. On top of that Ferra said that they lost our paper work and also the price they gave us was the wrong price for a timeshare and that there was no more one bedroom timeshares available. She also said that at the time of our contract West Gate contracted out a deal to another company who was fired because of the prices they quoted. This entire situation means West Gate is very unorganized and unprofessional. We were extremely upset at this point and needed to go because we had plans and just signing papers with Ferra took over 45 minutes so now we were late meeting our friends. We told Ferra we were disappointed and we were going to check out early. My husband and I were upset but came to the conclusion that if we were moved to one of the nicer condos it would somewhat make up for our bad experience and we would also be able to do our laundry. So we contacted Ferra and asked her. She put us on hold to talk to her supervisor and the supervisor said no. We were so angry we disconnected the phone call At this point I decided I must speak to Ferra’s supervisor so I called again to speak to her supervisor and told her all the above and had a conversation with her at least for 15 minutes just for her to tell me that they can’t do anything and that I need to contact corporate. On May 27, 2008 I called West Gate to settle this situation. I was transferred at least 6 times and then transferred to another company HotelsCorp.com. I don’t know why I was transferred so much and what should have been a fairly quick phone call turned into a 45 minute call of transfers and voicemails. I left a message for a supervisor and they did not call me back. On May 28, 2008 I called again which I was disconnected. So I called again and then said I wanted to talk to a supervisor. The representative said she talked to a supervisor and there was nothing they could do because I was already checked out. She then said I can fax a letter.
-Review courtesy of RVD (stayed during Jan, 1998)
 
4. Reviewer's Rating: (Horrible - 1 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2009-04-13 00:00:00
I have never been a person to give a review, however after my horrible stay at the Wesgate Leisure Resort, I felt like I needed to share this experience for the next person. The only good thing that I have to say is that this resort is in a prime location that is convenient to everything. I could go on and on about the bad things. When we arrived we had an ant problem, a broken frying pan, an outdated sleeper sofa that was full of stains, the mattress in the master bedroom had blood stains. This was the worst experience that I have ever had and I will never purchase anything from Westgate Resorts and would not recommend anyone else to purchase.
-Review courtesy of Opal Clark (stayed during Apr, 2009)
 
5. Reviewer's Rating: (Average - 3 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2009-05-01 00:00:00
I was worried about my upcoming stay when I read some of these reviews. I have to say that the resort was great. I was visiting Florida in a time when the resort wasnt' packed, and I really enjoyed the pool area. It was quiet and clean and relaxing. The units are a little dated in terms of bedspreads, etc. but well equipped. Because there is not daily cleaning service, the floor was a bit ... dirty, but manageable, because the dirt was my dirt! I enjoyed my stay and would not have a problem staying here again.
-Review courtesy of John Stewart (stayed during Apr, 2009)
 
6. Reviewer's Rating: (Horrible - 1 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2009-09-25 00:00:00
This Resort use to be Great until West Gate bought it. Ramada took care of the Resort and its customers a lot better. Leisure even did a better job than West Gate. The Resort has no security in the booth. Everyone comes and goes as they please. Very scary staying here at night. The Pools and Hot Tubs are very nasty(leaves and bugs floating). The Room has huge coachroaches. The Floors are so dirty and nasty you have to wear socks to walk throughout the room. No hot water only room temperature. Don't stay here at all. You will be very dissappointed if you stay here. Check all Reviews and you will understand why. Take heed to the reviews. I contacted the Corporate Office to report the situation and by the time I got off the phone they made me feel as though they don't even care about the conditions. You will be better off reporting directly to the Health Dept.
-Review courtesy of Owner (stayed during Sep, 2009)
 
7. Reviewer's Rating: (Horrible - 1 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2009-11-14 00:00:00
This resort actually looks very nice and has some average amenities. So I might be willing to recommend staying there. However, please please don't ever buy a timeshare from this company! The customer service is terrible, starting with the Web site. You will call their phone number and they'll tell you that all the answers to your questions can be found on at the Web site. Not true! Lots of generalizations but no mention of the fees, fees, fees. There's the yearly fee, the name change fee, the transfer fee, the booking fee, ad infinitum. You also can't perform any actions on the Web site, like changing a week, or transferring to another resort. Then when you call customer service back and insist on talking to a human being, you can be put on hold for 10-20 minutes at a time. Also note that they don't volunteer information. For example, "Can I transfer my week to another Westgate resort?" Answer: "Yes" instead of Answer: "Yes you can and it will cost you a booking fee of $150 to change a week plus $200 to change a location plus a membership fee of $495 per year plus you must call us X weeks beforehand plus there must be availability, etc etc." Its like pulling teeth to get information, and then once you get the whole picture you think, "Man, this is hard!" Specific note: I bought the timeshare from my brother and therefore needed a name change. After 3 phone calls [no joke] I was finally told that I needed to fax them particular information with signatures. I did so. This was in January. I called in February, March and April and was told to "wait, they're working on it". Today [November] I called again. First I was told that it would be $150 to make the change. In a year of calling this was the first mention of ANOTHER fee. Then I was told that I needed to call another number, the "Name Change Dept." This number went to voicemail and I have never received a follow up call from them. Almost a year to change the name on a deed?! You've got to be kidding me! The customer service representative I was on the phone with told me that there are people who have waited *5* years to get a name changed. Can you believe it! I'm going to the press and the Better Business Bureau next, and anyone else who will listen. These people have to be stopped, these kinds of practices are certainly unethical and must border on the illegal.
-Review courtesy of Bill LaFleur (stayed during Mar, 2009)
 
8. Reviewer's Rating: (Horrible - 1 out of 5 stars) Posted on 2011-01-04 00:00:00
Glad I dont own here!!! Didnt like the cock roaches even after they sprayed!!!!!
-Review courtesy of Brenda (stayed during Dec, 2010)
 

Click here to post your review for Westgate Leisure Resort >>

Click here to be notified when new listings are placed at Westgate Leisure Resort >>

View 14 timeshare rentals at Westgate Leisure Resort >>

View 9 timeshare resales at Westgate Leisure Resort >>

View 2 time share exchanges at Westgate Leisure Resort >>